StreamingCine

Home » Uncategorized » The wait is over…

The wait is over…

…because hopefully blogging will soon be resuming. New fatherhood has unsurprisingly limited my time to everything except the basics of my own survival, though our family is now on something of a schedule (and we are returning to work) so it will actually be easier for me to find time to write.

(Unexpectedly, I have been able to watch a fairly healthy number of films the past few months, since it’s about the only thing to do when holding a baby at 2:00 in the morning, especially when that baby needs white noise to fall asleep. Some of these I’ve chronicled on Letterboxd, but hardly all. There are a few things I’ve seen that I’d like to talk about here in the coming weeks.)

Here’s some pieces, most half-finished or otherwise sitting in a draft folder, that you can expect to see soon:

  • A short post on Peter Greenaway’s The Cook, the Thief, his Wife, and her Lover, the most recent of the films I’d plan to write about as part of the Streaming Project
  • A review of Glenn Frankel’s book about the pre-history and production of The Searchers
  • Some thoughts on developing auteurist cinephilia through the use of streaming services
  • An essay on The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp, which I recently watched for the first time on Blu-ray

Obviously, some of these posts expand beyond the original mission statement of this blog, but as my time is fairly limited I’d rather write about things I’m currently thinking about than try to wait to come up with “on topic” posts.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

